Tuesday, March 12, 2013

What Taker vs Punk at Mania Means to Me


The Opening 

Last night's RAW was pretty much a snoozer except for all the Paul Bearer remembering and Brock Lesnar. As the above photo suggests CM Punk is the absolute definition of what a heel should be. RAW opened up with the Undertaker again this week, which was a pleasant surprise. For those who don't know the legendary manager Paul Bearer passed away over the weekend. The long time manager of Taker and Kane was remembered with terrific tributes throughout the night. However, the opening segment was particularly great. After Taker's normal entrance, he got down in his patented stance and gestured toward the megatron, which right on cue showed an image of Bearer, his real name, and his life span. Then, "Cult of Personality" hits and CM Punk comes out. Punk expressed his condolences...for Taker's loss at Mania that is. What a way to draw some heat!  It is always tragic when someone dies before their time, but that being said, Bearer's death has added some much needed emotion to this storyline. Apparently Bearer's family, Taker, and Kane all approved of the night's events. He would have wanted it this way, Ohhhhhhhhhh yesssssssssss!

Punk vs Kane and the Aftermath 

Instead of me going on and on about all this just watch the video...

The match was solid, with Kane winning, but the real action started when Punk took the urn and started beating Kane with it. Undertaker, and all things related to him, are basically sacred cows in the WWE Universe. Again the WWE is trying to draw Punk MEGA heat by making him do borderline unthinkable things. Clearly filled with rage, Taker comes back out. Punk avoided him and then made his way to the stage where he struck that amazing pose. It seems as though the WWE does not want anyone cheering Punk in this feud. I have a strong feeling that this Mania crowd will be the most divided for Taker's match since his Streak vs Career match against Shawn Michaels, despite the WWE's efforts. This storyline just seems epic now. I have to admit I really think this could be it. Yes really! I actually thing Punk could win. Let me explain.

Is this the end? If not should it be?

Until CM Punk's legendary run as the WWE champ, I would have argued that The Streak was the most revered thing in WWE. Punk returned glory to the title, but The Streak might still overshadow it. Even though last year was pitched as an "End of an Era" match, this one hits a little closer to home for me. When I was a kid Undertaker was my favorite wrestler. I mean what's not to like? Taker is awesome and as a kid you would kind of buy into his whole persona. I went through a long period where I stopped watching wrestling all together. It was not until college that I started watching regularly again. Now beging older, and more of a critic, I was immediately drawn to Punk. So this match represents my childhood favorite versus my current favorite. In Punk's most recent DVD JR mentions how during Taker and Punk's past rivalry for the World Heavyweight Championship, Taker really developed a respect for Punk. This is one reason I think the streak is going to end. Taker is old, let's face facts. He cannot do this forever as much as we want him to. I think Taker had selected Punk to beat him, so he could finally retire. Ending the streak would bring Punk so much heat it would actually be hard to comprehend. I will never boo Punk because I love him and what he does both in the ring and on the mic. However, most people would be applying vast amounts of butthurt cream if Punk managed to win. The heel character would be perfected if they let Punk end the streak. At the end of the day though you have just as good a guess as me, as to how things are going to play out. I am actually going to be in attendance at Wrestlemania so needless to say I am beyond pumped for this storyline. Ok I will stop rambling. Until next time WWE fans!

Seriously how awesome is this?!

Sunday, March 3, 2013

What GTA V could learn from the movie Heat



For those who don't know,  Heat was a film released in 1995 starring Al Pacino, Robert De Niro, and Val Kilmer. Though not receiving much attention at the time, the film is now considered one of the great gangster heist flicks. At first glance you may wonder why these two entities are being compared. Rockstar has come out and said that they are making GTA V a heist driven game. Heat epitomizes what has to be done right, to make that formula successful in GTA V. Here is my breakdown of what that has to include.

Make Us Conflicted With Strong Character Drama

In the film Heat, Pacino plays a strong willed cop who will put his relationship with his wife and step-daughter on hold, to try to stop the bad guys. On the flip side is De Niro, the orchestrator of his heist team and all around hard ass. De Niro is technically the bad guy in this situation, but the whole movie you find yourself rooting for him and his pals to succeed. You understand why they are doing what they are doing, even if you know it is wrong. Being invested in morally conflicted characters helps keep you invested in the story. GTA V must do this with Michael, Trevor, and Franklin. In the past, Rockstar has come up with some fantastic lead characters,  Niko Belic and John Marston, are just a few examples of this. However, they are not always so high caliber. I was not a fan of Cole Phelps in L.A. Noire, for instance. Now, in GTA V there are three central characters to worry about. I am pretty confident Rockstar will deliver in this department overall, but I am slightly worried that one of the characters will inherently not be as strong as the other two. I am sure eveyone will have a favorite character regardless, once the game comes out. Still, I hope they try to keep the three of them balanced. There is absolutely huge storytelling potential with three main characters, so let's keep our fingers crossed that its awesome.

A Strong Supporting Cast is Good Too

As I mentioned De Niro heads his group of cronies as they perform high stakes heists. As the story movies along though, you come to know the wives and girlfriends, and friends of these characters. You come to realize that these hard boiled criminals still have people they care for. This is not to say they are blameless however. In Heat, Val Kilmer's wife lies to the police to allow her on-the-run husband to escape custody. If Rockstar really wants to hit a home run with GTA V and its lead characters, we need to get a look into their normal lives, and see what makes them tick. GTA games have had dating options in the past, but it was mostly a throw away. In V, make the player care about who they keep around them, and reward the player for doing so. I don't know about you, but dates got pretty boring in GTA IV after I got the achievement for beating my date in billiards. I am not saying I want better mini-games, but I would like to flesh out the idea of having a significant other in the game. It would also be interesting to see the differences between the three lead men and how they act around women, I feel like Trevor might not do so well...

Make the Heists Epic

I do not toss the term epic around lightly. I never use it in reference to some "fail," or any other form of hyperbole. Therefore, when I say epic I mean EPIC. By far my favorite part of GTA IV was the museum robbery mission with Packy. That mission was so fun, and yet there was a sense of gravity to it all. I had a sinking feeling in my stomach that something could go horribly wrong at any minute. This is where the film Heat comes into play. The best part of this film is when De Niro and friends go to rob a bank. Everything is going fine until Pacino and the cops get a tip about what is going down. If you have never seen this scene, watch it. It does not get much better than this...


I mean holy....Can you imagine if missions in GTA V felt like that?! It would be so awesome I would find it hard to conceal my arousal. In all seriousness though, if GTA V could nail the look and feel of that scene in the game, Rockstar would be able to pat themselves on the back for a job well done. Not every robbery is clean and simple. The uneasiness the player would feel going into every big heist mission would really help to elevate, and suck you into the story. The echo of the gunshots in the streets of L.A is something I will never forget about Heat. Now imagine that same feeling in Los Santos. These two forms of media are like a match made in heaven.

The Potential is There

I for one cannot wait to get more news about GTA V. I know it is one of the most anticipated games of my lifetime. Needless to say, there is a crazy amount of hype right now, which could lead to disappointment. However, if Rockstar looks to Heat, and films like it, they will be fine. With the recent delay, rumors have been swirling that GTA V might release on next-gen systems in addition to the PS3 and 360. If thats true, the power behind these new systems could really make this game into something very special. So next time you see a GTA V story, think of that shootout scene from Heat, and try not to smile at the possibilities.



Tuesday, February 26, 2013

WWE RAW Round Up 2/25/13

Blood....

Last night's RAW was typical of the show's trends we have been seing for the last couple of weeks, a few really awesome things spread out over mostly boring things. I am going to break down some of the parts of the show and speculate about what is yet to come on the road to Wrestlemania.

Brock and Triple H Return to Set up Their Inevitable Rematch


Everyone who has watched wrestling long enough knew that Vince McMahon vs Paul Heyman was just a plot device to set up Brock vs Triple H. Even knowing it was all going to happen, it was still awesome to see it unfold. Brock came out first after Vince got the upper hand on Heyman. Right before Brock could touch Vince though, Triple H's music hit. There was an excellent pop from the crowd for Hunter's return and soon he and Brock were at it. The real surprise of this segment was the blood. Yes we saw Brock bleeding like a geyser in the "PG Era." It is clear these two men really do not like each other, and is going to make a good story hopefully. Even though I am reluctant to see so many rematches at Wrestlemania, this segment definitely has me paying attention.

The Ziggler Botch Continues


Dolph and friends were relegated to a commercial break intro this week. This sums up what has been happening with him lately so perfectly. Mr. Money in the Bank himself cannot win for losing it seems. Week after week he has been losing and doing nothing whatsoever to set up any kind of Wrestlemania match. It is obvious that Dolph will cash in and become World Heavyweight Champion sometime during, or shortly after Wrestlemania. The problem is that the WWE has refused to build him up at all. He has not looked strong the way an eventual champ should. This continued this week when he was fed to Ryback. Despite all this Ziggler is still the golden child of the Internet Wrestling Community (IWC) and crowds everywhere. I just hope they get him back on track in time for Mania.

Speaking of the WHC...


So Miz TV was actually a conversation this week and not just throwing stage furniture around. I have to say when the WWE introduced Zeb Coulter's Tea Party, anti-immigrant gimmick I was afraid it would not get booed in certain places. Thankfully, the people of Dallas had the common sense to mostly boo the Fox News jargon. I was pleasantly surprised by the way Del Rio presented his points and how passionate he was. For the first time, for me anyway, Del Rio seemed like a face you could get behind. I still cannot wait for him to drop the belt to Ziggler whenever that ends up happening.

Some Problems With a 3 Hour Show


I have now seen Cesaro and Orton face off more times than I can count. Mark Henry has faced the Great Khali every week since his initial return. If a match is great I do not necessarily mind seeing it a couple of times (more on that later), but Orton always looks so bored in the ring that it is hard to be invested in a "RKO out of nowhere" type match. Listen WWE your lockeroom is much bigger than you make it seem on TV. How about putting Justin Gabriel in a match against Cesaro? Maybe you should not waste Daniel Bryan and Kane in a blindfold and arm tied match! If there is one thing I have learned from watching RAW is that you have to take the good with the bad. Still, my deja ju every Monday is getting to be a bit much.

CM Punk Declares He is God...I do not really disagree


Yes CM Punk called himself God this week, saying nothing about Wrestlemania or any other wrestler was more important than him. I agree with him. Punk is the best thing going in the brand, even though he does not have the belt anymore. His promos are guaranteed gold, and his matches are even better. Speaking of which what a match last night from Punk and Cena. I am by no means a fan of Cena's. I hate that he has to always play the underdog despite the fact that he can snap his fingers and become, "Super Cena" and kick out of anything. However, his rivalry with Punk over the past year actually made him a believable underdog again. This match was full of near finishes, kick outs, and all sorts of awesomeness these matches have come to be known for. No Undertaker did not interfere as so many IWC people expected, including myself. Honestly, I think it works better for Cena to win clean here, setting up the not so anticipated rematch from last year's Wrestlemania against Dwayne. This match was a nice closing of the book, for the year of the Cena vs Punk rivalry. I am sure they will have matches again down the road, but this match needed to happen for both men to move on for now.

Prediction Time


Cena is going to beat Dwayne. That is a lock, no doubt about it. Dwayne is hardly around as it is, and everyone knows he is going to disappear after Mania. Therefore, Cena has to take the belt back, which is a sad realization for me. It looks like next week will likely be the return of the Dead Man himself to set up Punk vs Taker, where Punk should end the streak and Taker should retire. The man cannot wrestle forever as much as we would want him to. Even last year, it took him a while to decide whether or not to come back. I look forward to seeing how Taker's story unfolds. There is still no guarentee he will even come back next week, but I am still excited. I am most intrigued by what kind of match The Shield will be in at Wrestlemania. Some signs point to Orton and The Great White being involved, but it is too early to tell. Either way, the next month or so of RAW will definitely be interesting...stay tuned!

Keep your fingers crossed!

Monday, February 25, 2013

2013 Oscar Round-Up

Ang Lee admiring the title of this blog

So there you have it another year, another award season concluded. Last night was the 85th annual Academy Awards, or as ABC decided to call it just, "The Oscars." I must admit I usually leave Oscar night disgruntled and disappointed, but for the first time in awhile the Oscars got it mostly right. I am going to break down some of the bigger moments and awards from last nights show, and give you the old "who should have won" schtick.

Seth MacFarlane


Seth is absolutely a love him or hate him guy. That being said, I thought he played it relatively safe, joke wise, considering his background. In fact, one of the main reasons his opener was so successful was because it played on this assumption. The inclusion of James T. Kirk himself, William Shatner, was a nice surprise and provided a comical backdrop to Seth's whole routine. The highlight for me was the boob song. This song was basically a laundry list of Hollywood actresses and the films where they appeared topless, complete with staged reactions from the stars themselves. The whole bit was received very well and did not seem too offensive for anyone. The reenactment of Flight with sock puppets was also very funny and quite original. MacFarlane did all the things an Oscar host is required to do, sing, dance, and joke, but I really thought he hit a homerun. I have to say it must have taken a lot of restraint to not make a 9/11 joke though.

Best Actor in a Supporting Role


Christoph Waltz was the winner here for Django Unchained. I saw the film and I liked it very much and I was thrilled it won Original Screenplay, but I do not quite agree here. Waltz was much more impressive in his role for Inglorious Bastards, which he did win for as well. The characters from the two films were far too similar, to justify another Oscar so soon. The real winner in my mind is Phillip Seymour Hoffman for his absolutely brilliant turn in The Master. The scene they showed for him  last night only scratches the surface of what Hoffman does in that film. I know both men have won Oscars in the past, but given that Waltz had won more recently and for a similar role I would have gone with Hoffman.

Best Actress in a Supporting Role


Anne Hathaway, my fellow New Jersian, took home the statue last night. Everyone knew this was probably the second biggest lock of the night, behind Adele. Even Sally Field, a fellow nominee, joked about it in a skit with MacFarlane. I cant argue this one so moving on!

Best Actor in a Leading Role


Another award that was pretty much decided way before Oscar night. Daniel Day Lewis is a wrecking ball of an actor. He so rarely does movies compared to most actors, that when he decides on a project you know it is something special. The man was as I have always imagined Lincoln to be. He won the Oscar and it is tough to argue against him. However, like Hoffman Joaquin Phoenix was so incredible in The Master that he absolutely rivaled if not surpassed Day Lewis' performance. If it seems like I am in love with The Master it is because I am. I firmly believe it is one of the greatest movies of all time, not even just this year. It is a sad truth that it was shut out on Oscar night, but I really thought Phoenix had the best chance out of the nominated categories.

Best Actress in a Leading Role


The beautiful and talented, future wife of mine, Jennifer Lawrence won for her role in Silver Linings Playbook. I love this movie, plain and simple. The marketing of this film made it seem like a rom com, but it is much more complex than that. Part of the reason for this is Lawrence's performance. She goes through so many different emotions in the 122 minute runtime of the film that no one can really argue with her winning. The only concern I had was that the Academy was going to get swept up in the age of some of the other nominees. Luckily they voted based on performance. and not age, and Lawrence came away with Mr. Oscar.

Best Director


This was probably the biggest surprise if the night. Spielberg was the favorite for his film Lincoln, but it was ultimately Lee who came away with the win for Life of Pi. You have to understand this book was long considered unfilmable. Ang Lee fought for this to get made and it was nothing short of a triumph. I am by no means a fan of 3D, but this film showed the artistic capabilities of that medium. Not only that, but you would think that a story of a boy and a tiger stranded at sea would drag on screen right? Wrong, the film is incredibly visceral and very much keeps you on the edge of your seat. Therefore, seeing Lee get recognition for all of this brought joy to my cold heart. After all the happiness best director brought me, it was immediately followed by disappointment.

Best Picture


Argo can add an Oscar to its exponentially large award shelf. Here was my main gripe with Argo, it was good not great. I did enjoy the film, but I never once thought of it as Best Picture. I should have known better though to assume that any other film had a shot at beating Argo in this category. The movie is literally about the film industry saving lives. Of course the Academy is going to vote for a story like that! It is a safe choice, just like The Artist, The King's Speech, and Slumdog Millionaire, just to name a few recent ones. At least five of the nominees were better films than Argo, and that does not even include films that were not nominated that were better, such as The Master and Skyfall. All in all though if I have to concede Argo for Best Picture to see Ang Lee, Jennifer Lawrence, and Quentin Tarantino all win I am okay with that.

Conclusion


Overall it was a good show. The James Bond tribute was a great acknowledgment of a legendary franchise. The theme of music in movies got to be a bit much especially after it was obvious the show was going to run long, but the performances were still enjoyable. As I said I think the Academy got it mostly right this year. Most of the technical awards were pretty by the numbers, though it was nice to see Skyfall take home a few trophies. Obviously, these are just my opinions, so feel free to leave your own take in the comments. One thing we can all agree on is that The Master got royally snubbed and was clearly the Best Picture of the year.
G.O.A.T.