| Blood.... |
Last night's RAW was typical of the show's trends we have been seing for the last couple of weeks, a few really awesome things spread out over mostly boring things. I am going to break down some of the parts of the show and speculate about what is yet to come on the road to Wrestlemania.
Brock and Triple H Return to Set up Their Inevitable Rematch
Everyone who has watched wrestling long enough knew that Vince McMahon vs Paul Heyman was just a plot device to set up Brock vs Triple H. Even knowing it was all going to happen, it was still awesome to see it unfold. Brock came out first after Vince got the upper hand on Heyman. Right before Brock could touch Vince though, Triple H's music hit. There was an excellent pop from the crowd for Hunter's return and soon he and Brock were at it. The real surprise of this segment was the blood. Yes we saw Brock bleeding like a geyser in the "PG Era." It is clear these two men really do not like each other, and is going to make a good story hopefully. Even though I am reluctant to see so many rematches at Wrestlemania, this segment definitely has me paying attention.
The Ziggler Botch Continues
Dolph and friends were relegated to a commercial break intro this week. This sums up what has been happening with him lately so perfectly. Mr. Money in the Bank himself cannot win for losing it seems. Week after week he has been losing and doing nothing whatsoever to set up any kind of Wrestlemania match. It is obvious that Dolph will cash in and become World Heavyweight Champion sometime during, or shortly after Wrestlemania. The problem is that the WWE has refused to build him up at all. He has not looked strong the way an eventual champ should. This continued this week when he was fed to Ryback. Despite all this Ziggler is still the golden child of the Internet Wrestling Community (IWC) and crowds everywhere. I just hope they get him back on track in time for Mania.
Speaking of the WHC...
So Miz TV was actually a conversation this week and not just throwing stage furniture around. I have to say when the WWE introduced Zeb Coulter's Tea Party, anti-immigrant gimmick I was afraid it would not get booed in certain places. Thankfully, the people of Dallas had the common sense to mostly boo the Fox News jargon. I was pleasantly surprised by the way Del Rio presented his points and how passionate he was. For the first time, for me anyway, Del Rio seemed like a face you could get behind. I still cannot wait for him to drop the belt to Ziggler whenever that ends up happening.
Some Problems With a 3 Hour Show
I have now seen Cesaro and Orton face off more times than I can count. Mark Henry has faced the Great Khali every week since his initial return. If a match is great I do not necessarily mind seeing it a couple of times (more on that later), but Orton always looks so bored in the ring that it is hard to be invested in a "RKO out of nowhere" type match. Listen WWE your lockeroom is much bigger than you make it seem on TV. How about putting Justin Gabriel in a match against Cesaro? Maybe you should not waste Daniel Bryan and Kane in a blindfold and arm tied match! If there is one thing I have learned from watching RAW is that you have to take the good with the bad. Still, my deja ju every Monday is getting to be a bit much.
CM Punk Declares He is God...I do not really disagree
Yes CM Punk called himself God this week, saying nothing about Wrestlemania or any other wrestler was more important than him. I agree with him. Punk is the best thing going in the brand, even though he does not have the belt anymore. His promos are guaranteed gold, and his matches are even better. Speaking of which what a match last night from Punk and Cena. I am by no means a fan of Cena's. I hate that he has to always play the underdog despite the fact that he can snap his fingers and become, "Super Cena" and kick out of anything. However, his rivalry with Punk over the past year actually made him a believable underdog again. This match was full of near finishes, kick outs, and all sorts of awesomeness these matches have come to be known for. No Undertaker did not interfere as so many IWC people expected, including myself. Honestly, I think it works better for Cena to win clean here, setting up the not so anticipated rematch from last year's Wrestlemania against Dwayne. This match was a nice closing of the book, for the year of the Cena vs Punk rivalry. I am sure they will have matches again down the road, but this match needed to happen for both men to move on for now.
Prediction Time
Cena is going to beat Dwayne. That is a lock, no doubt about it. Dwayne is hardly around as it is, and everyone knows he is going to disappear after Mania. Therefore, Cena has to take the belt back, which is a sad realization for me. It looks like next week will likely be the return of the Dead Man himself to set up Punk vs Taker, where Punk should end the streak and Taker should retire. The man cannot wrestle forever as much as we would want him to. Even last year, it took him a while to decide whether or not to come back. I look forward to seeing how Taker's story unfolds. There is still no guarentee he will even come back next week, but I am still excited. I am most intrigued by what kind of match The Shield will be in at Wrestlemania. Some signs point to Orton and The Great White being involved, but it is too early to tell. Either way, the next month or so of RAW will definitely be interesting...stay tuned!
| Keep your fingers crossed! |